We are pleased to announce that the winner of the 2020 AFG Ellingson Award is Dr Douglas D Boyd for his research article “Occupant Injury Severity in General Aviation Accidents Involving Excessive Landing Airspeed,” published in the April 2019 edition of the Aerospace Medicine and Human Performance (AMHP) AsMA journal. The award will be presented during the AFG Breakfast at the 2021 AsMA Annual Scientific Meeting in Reno, Nevada.

The runners-up were Dr William D Porter (co-authors: Nicole Powell-Dunford; Grant D. Wilde; Alaistair J. R. Bushby) for the research article, “Asthma and Rotary-Wing Military Aircrew Selection” published in the July 2019 edition, and Dr David L Lerner (co-authors: Ranjit S. Chima; Kirang Patel; Allen J. Parmet) for the technical note, “Ultrasound Guided Lumbar Puncture and Remote Guidance for Potential In-Flight Evaluaton of VIIP/SANS” published in the January 2019 issue.

Congratulations to all the authors involved!