AsMA Associate Fellows Group

The information portal for the Associate Fellows Group of the Aerospace Medical Association

Category: Uncategorized Page 1 of 3

Aeromedical Retrieval Study Participants needed!

If you are a physician or nurse working in aeromedical retrieval, you may be interested in assisting with this study.

For further information please contact Sqn Ldr Tania Thomas:

Aeromedical Retrieval Study

Australian Space Awards 2020 Finalist

Congratulations to our AFG Chair, Dr Rowena Christiansen, who has been shortlisted as a finalist for the 2020 Australian Space Awards in the category of “Academic of the Year”, representing the space life sciences. There are so many wonderful Australians on the list being recognised for their contribution to the space sector. Good luck to all!

Dr Rowena Christiansen

Fellowship in Perspective

Be sure to read the wonderful reflection by Dr Joe Ortega, AsMA President, on the meaning of “fellowship” on the February 2020 President’s Page:

AsMA Award Nominations closing soon!

AsMA is still seeking award nominations from members (closing on January 15th). Read more about the awards:

Earlybird registration for Atlanta is open!

Earlybird registration is open for the AsMA meeting in Atlanta this May. Please come along to the AFG Breakfast (open to all conference attendees and guests) as this is a great “meet and greet” opportunity and a chance for interested people to learn more about the AFG, the Fellows Group and AsMA Committees. We are planning to have several several guest speakers as well as the annual business meeting of the AFG, which will include the induction of new Associate Fellows and the presentation of annual awards and certificates.

Call for new AFG members

The time of year has come to call for new members of the AFG. Applications to join the AFG are currently open until December 31. If you are already a member, please think about encouraging others to apply.

Member opportunities closing soon!

Dear Associate Fellows, we have two reminders for you:

(1) AsMA Annual Scientific Meeting and Scientific Program Committee participation survey

If you have submitted an abstract, plan on attending the AsMA meeting in Atlanta or the AsMA Scientific Program Committee meeting in Alexandria on November 21, or are interested in serving as a session co/chair, then we invite you to complete our online survey no later than November 14:

If you cannot attend the Alexandria meeting but would like to participate as a remote reviewer, please contact as soon as possible.

(2) Invitation to self-nominate for Fellowship consideration

The AFG will submit its list of recommended candidates to the AsMA Fellows Group just before Thanksgiving. Candidates must have at least seven years membership in AsMA plus at least 130 points on the Fellows Scoring Sheet emailed out to members. Previously unsuccessful candidates are invited to reapply.

To apply:
(1) Fill in the Fellows Scoring Sheet (Excel spreadsheet);
(2) Complete the online application form:; and
(3) Upload your CV and the scoring sheet to Dropbox:
File name format:

Applications will close at midnight Pacific Time on Wednesday November 20, and the list of names will be forwarded to the Fellows Group shortly afterwards. The Fellows Group will contact nominees directly with a link to complete an online scoring sheet. The preparatory work each AFG candidate has undertaken in completing the attached scoring sheet will considerably facilitate this process.

For further information:
For any problems or concerns, please email

Please follow us on Twitter and join our Facebook group:,and consider submitting news and updates for our

AFG Newsletter September 2019

We are pleased to bring you the attached newsletter, which includes a number of updates to cover our news since the AsMA Annual Scientific Meeting in Las Vegas and the subsequent meetings of the AFG leadership group.

Please read the newsletter and consider nominating for one of our remaining leadership team vacancies or signing up for an AFG-sponsored Panel at the next AsMA meeting in Atlanta, or providing us with some suggestions about reinvigorating two of the evening receptions at the next AsMA meeting.

We would also like to remind you that all our news updates are also posted on Facebook and Twitter.
Please join our Facebook group and follow us on Twitter!

Service Awards – Congratulations to all the recipients!

Congratulations to all the AFG Annual Service Award recipients who received awards and certificates at the recent AFG Breakfast at the AsMA meeting in Las Vegas.

  1. Ellingson Award – Dr Michael Harrison
  2. Chair’s Award for Outstanding Service to the AFG – Dr Punita Masrani
  3. Service Awards – Executive Members retiring from their current office
    Dr Sanjay Gogate – for his work as Chair-Elect during the 2018-19 year
    Dr Rebecca Blue – for her work as Secretary over the past two years
    Dr Rowena Christiansen – for her work as Chair during the 2018-19 year
  4. Service Awards – Committee Chairs who have made a substantial contribution to the AFG
    Dr Punita Masrani – for her work as Chair of the Ellingson Award 2017-19
    Dr Patricia MacSparran – for her work as Chair of the Merchandising Committee
    Dr Dana Windhorst – for his work as Chair of the Nominations Committee
  5. Certificates Acknowledging Service – Deputy Committee Chairs who have contributed to the work of the AFG over the past year but are retiring from their current roles:
    Dr Kai-Wood Ma
    Professor Dr Munna Khan
    Dr Clifton Nowell
    Dr Ed Powers

New Fellows from the AFG!

Sincere congratulations to the 24 AFG members who were elected as AsMA Fellows at the recent meeting in Las Vegas – a wonderful achievement! There were only five new Fellows who came from outside the AFG, so this is a great illustration of the benefits of membership!
Michael Acromite, John Affleck, Paul Amoroso, Tina Bayuse, Alan Berg, Rebecca Blue, Michael Drane, Sanjay Gogate, Munna Khan, Patricia MacSparran, Punita Masrani, Thomas Massa, Walter Matthews, Randall Moore, Shannan Moynihan, Eric Olins, Nicole Powell-Dunford, William “Ed” Powers, Joan Saary, Tarek Sardana, Adam Sirek, Leigh Speicher, Charles Tedder, and Stephen Vander Ark.

This is the photo of the new Fellows present in Las Vegas:

“Fellows Class of 2019

The Class of 2019 Fellows was announced during Honors Night. In alphabetical order they are: Michael Acromite, John Affleck, Paul Amoroso, Tina Bayuse, Alan Berg, Rebecca Blue, Eddie Davenport, Michael Drane, Sanjay Gogate, Peter Hodkinson, Munna Khan, Patricia MacSparran, Punita Masrani, Thomas Massa, Walter Matthews, Richard McKinley, Stuart Mitchell, Randall Moore, Shannan Moynihan, Eric Olins, Nicole Powell-Dunford, William Ed Powers, Joan Saary, Tarek Sardana, Adam Sirek, Leigh Speicher, Charles Tedder, Russell Turner, and Stephen Vander Ark. Those present at the Honors Night Ceremony are pictured here along with the Fellows Chair, Dr. Warren Silberman (standing far right) and AsMA President, Roland Vermeiren, (far left).”

Page 1 of 3

Powered by WordPress & Theme by Anders Norén